EWC Alumna is Finalist for 2011s 100 Most Influential Filipina Women in the U.S.

Amefil (Amy) Agbayani

Amefil (Amy) Agbayani

The nationwide search for the 100 Most Influential Filipina Women in the U.S. is a campaign to advance Filipina women in the U. S. workplace called Pinay Power 2012. The Filipina Women’s Network is a private, non-profit organization founded and operated to raise funding and awareness of the activities, careers and status of women of Philippine ancestry living in the United States.

Amefil “Amy” Agbayani (ISI 64-69, PI 77, Assoc 06) has been nominated for the 2011s search for the 100 Most Influential Filipina Women in the U.S.  She has been nominated a finalist in the category Policymakers & Visionaries, which recognizes Filipina women leaders who have made or are making a difference in U. S. government policies or laws that impact business, industry, and society and who enrich the lives and careers of others by sharing the benefits of their wealth, experience, and knowledge.

Continue reading

EWC Media Alumnus Finalist for Livingston Award

Tim Higgins (Photo Credit: Detroit Free Press)Business Writer for the Detroit Free Press, Tim Higgins (EWSem 10) has been announced as one of the finalists for the 2010 Livingston Awards for Young Journalists. The Livingston Award, the nation’s largest all-media award, provides three $10,000 prizes for Local, National, and International Reporting to journalists under the age of 35.

The winners will be announced later on this year.

Tim was selected as finalist for the Livingston Awards for a story that he wrote about a trip to Jakarta that he took in 2010.



NIDA-EWC Seminar in Honor of Professor Seiji Naya

seiji naya

Professor Seiji Naya

On February 23, 2011 the Thai National Institute of Development Administration (NIDA) and the East-West Center hosted a seminar in Honor of Professor Seiji Naya (TDI 70-72, RSI 81, PI 82, CWO 83,  Rsch 02-09).

Professor Seiji Naya was a pioneer of the study of Asian economic cooperation and an indefatigable advocate of ASEAN cooperation for almost a half-century. In recognition of his many accomplishments, the NIDA  bestowed upon Professor Naya the prestigious Honorary Doctorate Award, the first person from outside Thailand ever to receive one. On occasion of this celebration, the East-West Center hosted a seminar, “New Approaches to Asian Economic Cooperation and Development,” which included presentations from noted scholars from throughout the Asia-Pacific region and beyond.

Continue reading

Top Filipino Cop Joins EWC APLP Program

eric escosio noble

Eric Escosio Noble (Photo Credit: Hawai'i Filipino Chronicle)

Police Supt. Eric Escosio Noble is a Filipino policeman that has been recognized by various private and civic organizations for his exceptional contributions to the Philippines.

Eric Noble holds the rank of Police Superintendent in the Philippine National Police. Last year, Noble received two national awards: the Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award—the country’s highest award given to public servants—and the “Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service” honor, presented by the Metrobank Foundation, the Rotary Club of New Manila East, and PSBank. Noble was lauded for his efforts to dismantle a corrupt system of “ghost cops” who were being paid for services that had not been rendered.

Also, he was recognized for his innovative projects addressing drug abuse prevention and youth leadership in Santa Barbara, Pangasinan. Noble has served as Civilian Police Officer with United Nations peacekeeping operations in Kosovo and Haiti. He holds a master’s degree in public administration from Lyceum-Northwestern University in Dagupan City, and has bachelor’s degrees in law and science from Jose Rizal University in Mandaluyong City and the Philippine Military Academy at Fort Del Pilar in Baguio City, respectively.

Continue reading

EWC Alumni Received Awards During World Town Planning Day 2010

On November 5th, 2010, the Department of Urban and Regional Planning (DURP) from the University of Hawai’i at Manoa and the American Planning Association Hawaii Chapter hosted the World Town Planning Day with awards and presentations. The theme of this 2010 edition of the World Town Planning Day was “Innovations in Planning for Livable Cities in Asia and the Pacific”.

During this event, two EWC Alumni received awards. Dr. Khaleda Rashid received the Dinell Outstanding Award and Dr. G. Shabbir Cheema shared the Planner of the Year Award with Peter Rappa.

Continue reading

EWC Alumnus Made Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit

Sir Tamati Reedy (Photo Credit: Watangi Tribunal)

Professor Tamati Reedy was made a Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit so he is now Sir Tamati Reedy.  He received this honor for his services in education and developing stronger ties with the Maori community.

Maori Affairs Minister Dr. Pita Sharples said in an official statement that Sir Tamati Reedy’s New Year honour is a fitting tribute to his life of service to the nation.

“Sir Tamati combines the strength of a rural Ngati Porou East Coast background with an outstanding academic career, which he has devoted to the advancement of Maori in education, public administration, iwi development and Maori-Crown relationships,” said Dr Sharples.

Continue reading

New Generation Seminar Alumnus Elected to U.S. Congress

Kevin Yoder (Photo credit: Kevin Yoder's website)

Kevin W. Yoder (EWC Seminars 05) has been elected to the U.S. Congress from the state of Kansas as a result of the U.S. November 2010 elections. Kevin is Representative-elect for Kansas’ 3rd congressional district, which encompasses Wyandotte, Johnson and a portion of Douglas County (Lawrence, Eudora).

Prior to his election to Congress, Kevin was a State Representative in Kansas for eight years, serving the people of the 20th District which includes Overland Park and Leawood. When first elected in 2002, Kevin was the youngest Republican in the Kansas House. In his fourth and final term, he was chairman of the 23-member House Appropriations Committee and was serving his eighth year as a member of the Judiciary Committee. In 2009 Kevin was given the “Intergovernmental Leadership Award” by the Kansas League of Municipalities for his leadership in resolving the state’s fiscal crisis. As a State Representative, Kevin was an advocate for public education and the disabled, and provided leadership on criminal justice issues. In 2003, he was awarded the “Courageous Leadership” Award by the Kansas Disability Caucus for his legislative efforts on behalf of disabled Kansans.

Continue reading

Former EWC Research Fellow Appointed as 18th President of Trinity University

On October 22, 2010 Dr. Dennis A. Ahlburg was inaugurated as the 18th president of Trinity University with students, faculty, staff, alumni, benefactors, and former colleagues taking part in an investiture ceremony in Laurie Auditorium at Trinity University. Ahlburg pledged to integrate the arts, humanities, sciences, and business practices into new ways of defining a liberal arts education in the 21st century.

Continue reading