East-West Center Alumni Receive Distinguished Alumni Awards

Five East-West Center alumni have been selected to receive the 2010 Distinguished Alumni Award from the East-West Center and the East-West Center Association. This award recognizes outstanding accomplishments, including significant contributions to the promotion of better relations and understanding among the peoples of Asia, the Pacific, and the United States; significant achievement in your career field and continuing support for the goals and objectives of the Center.

Dr. Hao Ping, (China) (Research Intern ASDP 1993) Vice Minister of the Chinese Ministry of Education. He is honored for his accomplishments as a leading national educator and government official in China combined with his work with the Center’s Asian Studies Development Program and his dedication to the goals of the East-West Center to improve relations throughout the region

Dr. Rajendra K. Pachauri, (India) (Fellow Resource Systems 1982) Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change which received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. He is honored for his accomplishments as the chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change as well as receiving the “Padma Vibhushan Award” by the President of India and the “Officier de La legion d’Honneur” by the Government of France. These accomplishments are combined with almost 30 years of contributions to the ongoing programs of the East-West Center and a commitment to improve relations throughout the region

Dr. Shankar Prasad Sharma, (Nepal) (Phd Student 1979), Nepalese Ambassador to the United States, and President of the EWCA Nepal Chapter. He is honored for his accomplishments as the Nepalese Ambassador to the United States, his long and distinguished service with the government of Nepal, including the Vice Chairman of the National Planning Commission, Economist with CEDA, and for his many years as leader of the EWCA Nepal Chapter during which he revitalized the chapter.

Dr. Delia B. Rodriquez-Amaya, (Brazil-Philippines) (MA Student 1963 – 65), Professor of Food Science at University of Campinas. She is honored for her work as professor and scientist in food science, food chemistry and nutrition. In addition to her extraordinary work in Brazil, she has provided training to many countries in South America, Asia, and Africa. In addition, she has written over 200 publications including basic reference works for laboratories.

Ann Dunham Soetoro, (Phd Student in Anthropology, 1973-8 Resource Systems). She receives this award posthumously in recognition of her outstanding work in anthropology, including work in Indonesia on micro financing, which has been recognized by Duke University Press which recently published her Phd dissertation. Throughout her career, she supported the Center’s mission to serve others and improve relations throughout the region. Her life served as an inspiration for her son, President Barack Obama, who shares her values and dedication to make the world a better place.